New Obsession: The Underwoods!

Good bye, Ben Wyatt and Leslie Knope. I have a new political couple that I’m going to worship from now on. Well, it’s not a permanent good bye. It’s just now you two won’t be my number one favorite anymore.

Ladies and gentlemen, I present you, from the Netflix original series House of Cards, the abhorrent pairing: Francis and Claire Underwood.

Claire. I love that name. If The Underwoods lived in the land and time of Game of Thrones, they would bestow her the name Ice Queen of House Underwoods. She’s one of the most enchanting and my favorite female characters. It’s almost a crime to dislike her.

Claire was 48 when the show started two years ago, yet still strikingly beautiful with chick wardrobe and pixie haircut (shows her sense of simplicity and practicality, plus her power and terror).
She doesn’t talk much, but when she does, she does it slowly, calmly, gracefully. So when she raises her voice or changes her expression even slightly, you would definitely notice (I guess Claire thinks that she’s surrounded by a bunch of petulant kids, so she mainly holds her tongue and calms herself before opening her mouth).
She’s pragmatic, like her husband. She knows what to do when needed and she’s willing to do whatever it takes to live and survive and achieve what she wants in that side of the world. And by that side of the world, of course I mean the darkest and dirtiest side of government when you happen to be the wife of a congressman of United States.

Francis Underwood is the epitome of a Machiavellian in planet Earth. What can I tell you about him? Well, he was promised by the president-elect of the United States a position in his cabinet as secretary of state (if you need an example in real life, just know and remember that Hillary Clinton once had this title). But right before the president-elect’s being sworn, he changed his mind and Francis stayed in the congress. Francis then swore to get his revenge on the president-elect and those people who screwed him up. He worked days and nights, with his wife, to conduct an epic revenge to throw the president-elect out of his office.
You name every single thing that comes out of your mind about the things Francis and Claire might do. They’ve done it. You won’t believe it, but I swear it is a grandeur orchestra.

The paragraph above is basically the prologue of the series. So there, you got the basic story of House of Cards.

So here’s a bit of their journey throughout season one and two. It’s not that often they shared screen, but sometimes when they did, it’s rather sweet (by my standard). Even their “hey” to one another sounds like a 28-year-old marriage. :)
Why yes, I’m that sensitive over reading things, sometimes.

Warning: These pictures, of course, contain spoilers.

First time seeing them together in the pilot. This where it all began.

First time seeing them together in the pilot. This where it all began.

Having casual night talk about Claire's old affair who's in town.

Having casual night talk about Claire’s old affair who’s in town.

Another very casual morning discussion. Now was about Francis' current affair with a reporter, just when he entered his house (yes, that's a walk of shame).

Another very casual morning discussion. Now was about Francis’ current affair, just when he entered his house (yes, that’s a walk of shame).

Dutifully powdered her husband's face. Just because.

Dutifully powdered Francis’ face before his appearance on TV. Because God forbid anyone else did that to her husband.

Aside from their (kind of) open marriage, they do love each other. Here was Francis, consoling his wife about her nightmare. If there's one person that Francis could empathize with, I think it's Claire. Wait.. if it's kind of an open marriage, then what they had wasn't really an affair, right? Hmm...

Aside from their (kind of) open marriage, they do love each other. Here was Francis, consoling his wife about her nightmare. If there’s one single creature that Francis can empathize with or be considerate to, I think it’s Claire. Wait.. if it’s an open marriage, then what they had wasn’t really an affair, right? Hmm…

Another sweet late night talk. If my life was a fiction, I wouldn't mind my husband murdered someone out of love for me. I'd dig that.

Another sweet late night talk. If my life was a fiction and there’s no heaven or hell, I wouldn’t mind my husband murdered someone out of love for me.

Quietly celebrating birthday. That's the dream.

Quietly celebrating birthday. That’s the dream.

Turning an affair into a romantic gesture. Well, Claire's still being condemned by the conservatives and I loved how the show didn't focus on that.

Turning an affair into a romantic gesture. Well, Claire’s sure being condemned by the conservatives and I loved how the show didn’t focus on that. We, especially me, don’t need to see her wallowing in regret, nor parading her self-pride, or justifying her act. Let her and her husband be a perfect pair of corrupted souls that they are.

Just exactly how I pictured my morning with Mamas. Eh? :P

Just exactly how I pictured my morning with Mamas. Eh? :P

This is their intimate time. After work, before bed. Sitting by the side of the window. Smoking, sharing their day, plotting their next day.

Their intimate time. After work, before bed. Sitting by the side of the window. Smoking, drinking, sharing their day, plotting their next day.

Another picture of a perfect quiet morning with Mamas. EH?? :P

Another picture of a perfect quiet morning with Mamas. EH?? :P

One of relationship goals. Nooo.. not about Mamas being a president, but you know.. being there at the most important day of his life. Something like that. :))

One of relationship goals. Nooo.. not about Mamas being the most powerful man in the world, but you know.. being there by his side at the most important moments of his life. Something like that. :))

This is one of those couples that just were clearly made for each other. I don't mind the conniving part, I dig that. That's what makes them strong and glued together. But I just couldn't help but sometimes yelled on my screen, "WHYYY DO YOU WANT THIS?? WHY DOES ANYONE EVEN WANT TO BE THE MOST POWERFUL PERSON IN THE WORLD?? WHY?? GAK ELING MATI TA?? DUUUH..."

This is one of those couples that were clearly made for each other. I don’t mind the conniving part at all (I’m seriously questioning my own moral judgment right now), that’s what makes them strong and glued together. In a way, they deserve each other. They’re already with the best partner they could ever have. But I just couldn’t help but sometimes yelled on my screen, “WHYYY DO YOU WANT THIS?? WHYYY DOES ANYONE EVEN WANT TO BE THE MOST POWERFUL PERSON IN THE WORLD?? WHYYY?? GAK ELING MATI TA??? DUUUH…”

 

Saya barusan ngehapus tulisan panjang tentang pasangan ini di season tiga, season terbaru House of Cards yang tuntas saya tonton seharian kemaren (yap, another 13 hours). But fuck that. And fuck season three! I’m going to pretend that it doesn’t exist until the writers stop butchering the story and Claire’s character in season four next year.
It’s definitely a sin to turn a dearly impeccable stoic calculated cold goddess into a nagging petty short-sighted hormonal wife! I won’t have Claire be that kind of person.

If we never saw this kind of scene again, then I don’t know, man. I guess love is only a myth. Because even then Rihanna would be deadly wrong. We did not find love even in a hopeless place (and these two being the most hopeless form of human being). Bye.

Leave a Reply

